Learning games for kids with no ads: 8 compared
In short: For under-8s, Khan Academy Kids (ages 2–8), Duolingo ABC (early reading) and Moose Math (early maths) are free, and their makers say they have no ads. For school-age children, Khan Academy is free and covers many subjects, though it is more a course than a game. Reading Eggs / Mathseeds, Matific and Funexpected Math have no ads but need a subscription. Mochi Isle, the game we make, runs in the browser for ages 5 to high school, with three islands free.
Disclosure: we make Mochi Isle, one of the eight, so weigh that as you read. The table is in alphabetical order, not a ranking. Other facts come from each product’s official site, its app store listing or Common Sense Media, checked on 2 November 2026. Prices and policies change, so check again before you pay.
| Game | Ages | Subjects | How it runs | Cost | Ads | Can children talk to each other? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duolingo ABCApp Store / Google Play | About 3–8 | Early English reading and writing | App (iOS, Android) | Free | None (app store listing) | Not stated |
| Funexpected Mathfunexpectedapps.com | About 3–7 | Number sense, early coding, spatial skills, logic | App (iOS, Android) | Subscription; free download and trial | None (app store listing) | Not stated |
| Khan Academykhanacademy.org | K–12 and early college | Maths, science, English and more | Browser or app | Free | None (Common Sense Media) | Website discussions under lessons, not in the app; official help says under-13 accounts cannot post |
| Khan Academy Kidskhanacademy.org/kids | 2–8 | Maths, reading, writing, social-emotional learning | App; official page mentions no browser version | Free for families | None (official) | Not stated |
| Matificmatific.com | 4–15 | Maths, financial literacy | Browser or app | Subscription; 7-day trial | None (official) | Official: no third party can contact a child |
| Mochi Isle (we make this)mochiisle.com | 5 to high school | Maths, English, science, humanities | Browser only; nothing to download | Three islands free; more with a family membership (free during testing) | None | Preset emotes and phrases only; no typing |
| Moose MathApp Store / Google Play | 3–7 | Early maths | App (iOS, Android) | Free | None (app store listing; the developer is part of Khan Academy) | Not stated |
| Reading Eggs / Mathseedsreadingeggs.co.nz | Reading Eggs 2–13; Mathseeds 3–9 | Reading, maths | Browser or app | NZ$14.99–19.99 a month; 30-day trial on monthly plans | None (official NZ pages) | Matches kids in a game centre; Common Sense Media does not mention chat |
“Not stated” means we found no official statement. It does not mean the product has chat.
Which one for which child
Preschool to age 8, and you want to start free: Khan Academy Kids is the broadest. For learning to read, try Duolingo ABC. For maths only, try Moose Math.
School-age, free, many subjects: Khan Academy. It is closer to lessons and practice.
Happy to pay for a structured reading and maths programme: Reading Eggs / Mathseeds or Matific.
Age 5 and up, nothing to download, maths, English and science in one game: Mochi Isle. The questions are the gameplay.
Often mentioned, but read the details
Prodigy Math: free to play, with optional memberships. Its blog says students see no ads, while its student privacy policy describes in-game ads for Prodigy’s own services and rules out third-party ads. Common Sense Media rates its purchases as “a lot”, and notes less of this in school mode.
ABCmouse: officially no third-party ads. The free Basic plan allows 10 activities a day; full access needs a subscription.
PBS KIDS Games: free and playable in a browser. It is a US service, so try it first from New Zealand. We could not confirm an official no-ads statement, so it is not in the table.
“No ads” is not the same as “no selling”
Some games have no third-party ads but still show memberships, locked content or a store on the child’s screen. Check three things: whether prices appear on the child’s screen, whether the best parts sit behind a membership, and whether a child can reach the payment page alone. There is a fuller list in how to choose a learning game.
Where Mochi Isle falls short
It is new and still in testing, with no independent reviews yet. It runs in the browser only, with no App Store or Google Play app. Starter questions come in both languages, but from Rung 1 up they are in English. It is not built for children under 5. See Mochi Isle at a glance.
Common questions
Is there a free learning game with no ads?
Yes. Khan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC and Moose Math are free, and their makers say they have no ads. School-age children can use Khan Academy, also free with no ads. Mochi Isle’s main island is free with no ads as well.
Do games without third-party ads still sell to children?
Some do. Common Sense Media, for example, rates Prodigy Math’s purchases as “a lot” and mentions locked content and prompts, with less of this in school mode. Check whether prices and payment links appear on the child’s screen.
Which ones work in a browser with nothing to download?
In the table, Khan Academy, Matific, Reading Eggs / Mathseeds and Mochi Isle all work in a browser. Prodigy Math and PBS KIDS Games have browser versions too (PBS is a US service, so try it first from New Zealand).
Want to try Mochi Isle?
The main island and the daily lesson are free, right in the browser, with nothing to download.
Start playing ↗ More parent guides